Scenes from a Train

Additional Information

The contrasting scenery along composer Jenni Pinnock’s daily commute from London into the Essex countryside inspired this suite for clarinet, written in three parts. 

The Andantino con moto represents London – the hustle and the bustle of the streets contrasted by the beautiful architecture, old and new. The Andante reflects the journey out of London, incorporating the houses and rivers alongside the fleeting moments of beauty encountered en route, such as the lock keeper’s cottage and the Tower Hamlets cemetery.  The final movement, the Larghetto cantabile, is the sudden transition into the Essex countryside – beautiful, peaceful and serene.

Scenes from a Train was written in late 2011 and is available with both piano and string quartet accompaniments. If you would like to see the version with string quartet, please get in touch. The duration of all three movements is approximately 12.5 minutes.

There are blog posts about all three movements:

Andantino con moto:…


Larghetto cantabile:…

The three movements of Scenes from a Train can be found on Payhip (digital PDF download): 




Scenes from a Train