Cracked Voices (song cycle)

Additional Information

Cracked Voices is a classical song cycle based on stories of forgotten characters from the borderlands of Hertfordshire and Cambridgeshire. A collaboration between writer Graham Palmer and Jenni Pinnock, the cycle comprises of 12 songs (and linking narrations), set for a combination of soprano, baritone, clarinets and piano:

1) Those Who Wait (soprano/clarinet/piano)

2) Riddle the First (baritone/clarinet/piano)

3) The Ballad of Alice Stokes (soprano/bass clarinet/piano)

4) Composite Man (soprano/baritone/clarinet)

5) A Doubtful Loss (soprano/baritone/clarinet/piano)

6) The Blessing of the Road-born Child (soprano/clarinet)

7) Domestic Economy (soprano/baritone/clarinet/piano)

8) The Devil and the Draper (soprano/baritone/piano)

9) Jesus from Hut 7 (baritone/piano)

10) A distant murmuration (soprano/clarinet/piano)

11) Earthrise (baritone/piano)

12) Curating the collection (soprano/baritone/clarinet/piano


The linked song here - The Ballad of Alice Stokes - is one of 12 songs in the cycle. For more information about the cycle:

- Visit the website -

- Download the album from Bandcamp:

Cracked Voices was written in 2017/18 and was made possible by support by the Arts Council's Grants for the Arts scheme, and PRS Foundation's Open Fund for Music Creators. 




Date published
Record company
Joelle Records
The Ballad of Alice Stokes