Made From Dust

Additional Information

Made From Dust is the second movement of a 4-part work for orchestra. Its structure is a narrative, developmental blend of overlapping blocks of music. These combine dramatic and lyrical styles to emotional effect: for example, one such 'parcel' comprises a call and response reminiscent of monks singing responses to versicles chanted by a cantor (see bar 20); another is the powerful chorale style statement of music (presaged in Prologue) at the climax of the piece (see bar 221).

Video on YouTube:

The other movements of the symphony are as follows:

I: Prologue (mentioned above) 

III: Funky Poly

IV: BlocSwitch (composition of which is currently underway)


for orchestra

Cliffe Woods
United Kingdom