Dawnsiau'r Nant / Dances of the Stream

Browse Works

Additional Information - - timp - xyl - mar - vib - hp - pf - perc (3) - str

(i) Dance of the sun on the stream (1)

(ii) Dance of the dark clouds

(iii) Dance of the sun on the stream (2)

(iv) Dance of the rain on the stream

(v) Dance of the sun on the stream (3)

This piece, commissioned by St David's Hall, Cardiff and premiered in 1999 by the BBC NOW, Owain Arwel Hughes, conductor, was inspired by the dancing stream bubbling down the hillside -- one stream in particular, the 'Nant y Wenallt' in the composer's native village of Abernant, near Aberdare in South Wales. Three lively, rhythmic dances are built on the same recurring material, a ribbon of woodwind and percussion. Between these are two others: 'Dance of the dark clouds' begins with a cor anglais solo, builds to much darker textures and fades again; 'Dance of the rain on the stream' starts innocently but as the drums enter a mysterious canon develops. This builds to a huge climax. Then the optimistic first dance returns. 



for full orchestra
Stainer & Bell