Kirsten’s compositions have been played around the world. Brno, for cello and piano, was performed at the Festival OSMOSE in Brussels; Flute Vibes was premiered in Oxford by Chris Britton; the premiere of Remembrance, Journey and Dance (in a version for clarinet, bassoon and piano) was given in New York City by Vent Nouveau; and Union/Disunion, for chamber orchestra, on the UK's leaving of the EU, in London by the London Contemporary Chamber Orchestra in 2017.

Kirsten has written for a range of solo instruments, from tuba (Deep Blue) to bassoon (Epik and Dance); for Children's Choir (The Pied Piper of Hamelin); voice (Eliza); SATB choir (The Four Elements); and orchestra (And time stood still....). Her professional work as a pianist includes eighteen discs of solo piano music for Centaur, Nimbus, Delos and Guild.

Kirsten is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts,; a Fellow of the Incorporated Society of Musicians,; and volunteers her time as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Fragile X Society, a U.K. charity,

Photos: Jonathan Herring


Kirsten Johnson

Kirsten Johnson composer
Oxford , Oxfordshire
United Kingdom
51° 45' 7.2756" N, 1° 15' 27.8136" W
Oxfordshire GB