Originally hailing from south Manchester, Stephen Balfour (b. 1997) is a composer whose music has been played by Quatuor Diotima and Dark Inventions as well as more recently working with Huw Watkins, Mark Simpson & Zoë Martlew. 

Upcoming projects include pieces for Royal Academy of Music Fellow Ensembles Echéa Quartet and Ibex Brass, as well as being commissioned by the Royal Academy to write a guitar duo for Saki Kato and Hugh Millington premiering in March 2020. 

Stephen interacted with music from an early age, beginning to learn the violin from the age of five. The trombone soon followed and the piano thereafter as Stephen had achieved grade 8 in all three by 2016. From 2015 to 2018, Stephen studied Music at the University of York, where he worked on a number of creative projects under the tutelage of Prof. Roger Marsh and Prof. Thomas Simaku.

Since graduating with a BA (hons) degree in July of 2018, Stephen has returned to further study in September 2019 and is currently completing his master’s in composition at the Royal Academy of Music studying with Prof. David Sawer as well as partaking in a masterclass with Hans Abrahamsen.

Matt Priestley


Stephen Balfour

Matt Priestley
Clapham , London
United Kingdom
51° 27' 57.1716" N, 0° 8' 28.7736" W
London GB