Robin Haigh is a composer from London. In 2017, he became one of the youngest ever recipients of a British Composer Award for his recorder quintet, In Feyre Foreste, at the age of 24. This year, his music will be performed by the Royal Northern Sinfonia and the LSO Chamber Ensemble, and will feature on a release by NMC Recordings.

His opera, The Man Who Woke Up, was premiered in London in 2015, and went on to receive three performances in 2016 with Thompson Street Opera Company in Louisville, Kentucky. Other theatrical works include his 1936 for two narrators and large ensemble, commissioned by East London Music Group, and the site-specific Die Nächte in Berlin for the Art of Chaos Festival in the basement of Shoreditch Town Hall. Much of his work has involved writing for historical and lesser-used instruments, having received performances from The Dunedin Consort, Elizabeth Kenny (lute), Tabea Debus (recorder), and Duo Ex Libris (quarter-tone pianos), with further pieces in progress for Luke Carver Goss (accordion), and Zi Lan Liao (guzheng).

Robin studied at Goldsmiths University of London with Dmitri Smirnov, and then at the Royal Academy of Music with Edmund Finnis and David Sawer. While at the Academy, he was awarded the Eric Coates Prize for his orchestral piece Movado, and participated in lessons and masterclasses with Magnus Lindberg, Bent Sorensen, Oliver Knussen, Judith Weir, and Michael Finnissy. He is currently participating in both Sound and Music’s Next Wave 2 scheme, and the London Symphony Orchestra’s Soundhub scheme.

Alex Hill-Knight



Composer Website


Robin Haigh

Alex Hill-Knight
New Voices 2017
London , London
United Kingdom
51° 30' 26.4636" N, 0° 7' 39.9288" W
London GB