Alex Mackay is a composer based in Glasgow, making live and fixed works as well as collaborative work in the fields of visual art, dance, film and performance.

 Alex has recently made new work with companies such as the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Red Note, Touch and the Glasgow New Music Expedition, and is currently a Sound & Music Portfolio composer-in-residence, developing a new work for the Ludi Quartet Kernow electric guitar ensemble.

 Alex is active as a performer specialising in experimental electronic and electric guitar music; through solo performances, as part of the dance/music duo The Cloud of Unknowing, and as a touring member of the experimental rock band Mogwai.

 Alex studied composition at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, and was awarded the Craig Armstrong prize upon graduation in 2016.

Su Grierson/Alex Mackay


Alex Mackay

New Voices 2017
Glasgow , Lanarkshire
United Kingdom
55° 51' 51.2532" N, 4° 15' 6.5016" W
Lanarkshire GB
Last edited by: SaM Editor