Born in Bolivia in 1958, Agustín Fernández has been based in the United Kingdom since 1984.

Following a precocious start as a folk musician, he studied composition in La Paz with Alberto Villalpando and in Japan with Takashi Iida and Akira Ifukube. In Britain he studied at Liverpool University and at City University. After a four-year spell as Composer-in-Residence at Queen’s University, Belfast, he taught at Dartington College of Arts, before being appointed lecturer in composition at Newcastle University in 1996 and, since 2007, Professor of Composition.

His works are performed by the main orchestras, choirs and chamber groups in Bolivia. In Britain he has been awarded a number of commissions, including projects with London International Opera Festival, Royal Opera House’s Garden Venture, Park Lane Group, Royal Northern Sinfonia and many others. International commissions have included, among others, two from New Juilliard Ensemble and the celebrated Koussevitzky Commission, for String Quartet No. 2 ‘Sin tiempo’. His work has been performed widely, including orchestral performances at Lincoln Center (New York), Fort Worth, Huddersfield Festival, Latin American Music Festival (Caracas), Italy, Spain, and many other orchestral and chamber music performances in Europe and the Americas.

At the time of the last edit of this text (February 2017) he has just completed a revised version of Río Bravo and a version for cello and piano of Souvenir de Teoponte. Río Bravo was premièred last April at Lincoln Center by New Juilliard Ensemble, whereas Souvenir de Teoponte was performed, in its original form for double bass and piano, also in Lincoln Center, as part of the Focus Festival last January.

Photo by Grover Hinojosa/Ximena Mogk


Agustín Fernández

Newcastle upon Tyne , Tyne & Wear
United Kingdom
54° 58' 41.7072" N, 1° 37' 4.008" W
Tyne & Wear GB